What is Express Entry?

The Canadian Government introduced an online immigration application system called Express Entry on January 1st, 2015. In this system, applicants must submit their profiles in the express entry pool to be eligible as skilled immigrants. Applicants with the highest rankings are invited to apply as permanent residents. According to the Express Entry system, candidates must prove themselves eligible under either one of three federal economic immigration programs. These are:
As authorized Canada immigration consultants in Bahrain, we will explain these programs to you. We will help you prepare your application for the program category that best fits you.

How Express Entry Works

The Canadian Immigration Express Entry System has a total of 100 points. You will be needing a total of 67 points to be eligible for the Express Entry system. However, the more points you score, the better it is, as you proceed to the next steps.

The Canadian Express Entry Class consists of six unique selection factors. These are:


What is the Comprehensive Ranking System?

Candidates in the Express Entry Pool are assigned a rank according to the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS). It is an internal mechanism of the Government of Canada to rank applicants based on their human capital. This ranking is influenced by several factors such as age, education, language proficiency (English and French), work experience, and other parameters.
The CIC (Citizenship and Immigration Canada) takes into account this ranking to decide which candidates should be issued invitations for permanent residence in Canada. The CRS system ranks candidates in metrics consisting of up to 600 points that judge the core human capital and skills transferability. An additional 600 points are given to candidates who have received a provincial nomination from any of the Canadian provinces. As one of the best immigration consultants in Bahrain we will help you understand the ranking system so that you have a better chance of getting permanent residence.

Provincial Nominee Program and how it works

The IRCC (Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada) established the PNPs (Provincial Nominee Programs) to allow Canadian provinces and territories to nominate immigrants. Nomination is done based on the interest in settling down in a particular province/territory and the ability to contribute to the economic development of that province/territory. The PNPs have a key role to play in the immigration policies of Canada. More than 200,000 people are expected to get permanent residence in Canada through a PNP from 2020 to 2022.

There are two streams for PNP:

1. Express Entry

Most provinces and territories have streams associated with the Federal Express Entry selection system. According to it, ‘enhanced’ nominations are available whereby nominees are awarded 600 additional CRS points. It is considered the single most important factor, guaranteeing that the candidate gets an Invitation to Apply (ITA) at a subsequent draw from the Express Entry pool. Applicants who intend to apply for a provincial nomination under an enhanced stream of PNP must first have an Express Entry profile to enter the pool.

2. Non-Express Entry

Provinces and territories can also nominate candidates by their ‘regular’ or ‘base’ PNPs outside the Express Entry pool. Applicants who want to immigrate but find themselves ineligible for the Express Entry pool can still apply through a base PNP. Each province carries its own set of regulations and nomination streams and programs. The selection process and the criteria to get a provincial nominee certificate differs from one province to the next. Once the candidate obtains a nomination, the next step would be to submit a paper application for PR to the IRCC.

What criteria does provinces look for in their nominees

Would you like to know whether you are eligible for immigration/study to Canada?
Take the Free Assessment today to find out!